Nursing-LVN

Beginning May 1, applications for the next LVN (PN) Class/August start) will be accepted in person at the Monahans and Andrews Center or via email using scan or photo technology (pdf format). To submit your application please go to:  https://www.odessa.edu/Schools/HealthSciences/NursingLVN/ 

Emailed applications can be sent to LVN@odessa.edu (documents must be in PDF format)  Incomplete applications will not be accepted. 

Note:  All Accepted Nursing Students will be required to have COVID Vaccinations.   

For Questions please contact: 
In Andrews:  Danna Duke 432-524-4022
In Monahans:  Debbie Chaney 432-335-6390

Deadline is 5:30 pm Tuesday, June 1, 2021. 

In order to allow students to complete the application process by the deadline of June 1, 2021, we encourage students to submit all other required documents between May 1-June 1. Email LVN@odessa.edu if you have any questions or concerns.

Other Helpful Information

TEAS test are being given at the testing center.  To sign up call 432-335-6620 or email testingcenter@odessa.edu 

Contact Continuing Education for more information on when CPR/BLS classes will be offered 432-335-6580 or email Heather Patton at HPatton@odessa.edu 
DividerWeb2.png

Vocational Nursing

Are you ready to blend your compassion and caring with the highest quality nursing training available? Then consider vocational nursing and provide hands-on care for sick, injured, or long-term care patients in hospitals, nursing homes, clinics, and an endless variety of settings locally or across the nation.

The Odessa College vocational nursing program is a one year certificate program certificate program THAT prepares the graduate to become a Licensed Vocational Nurse (LVN). Vocational nursing education is available at the Andrews and Monahans extension centers. The LVN functions as an important member of a health care team under a licensed physician and/or a registered nurse’s supervision. Vocational nurses provide care in a variety of structured health care settings for individual clients who are experiencing common health problems. The Odessa College vocational nursing programs ARE approved by the Texas Board of Nursing. The BON is located at 333 Guadalupe, Austin, Texas, 78701; phone 512-305-7400. The nursing curriculum plan is approved by the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board (THECB). 

 Go Back to Schools Home 


QUICK-LINKS.png

Apply NowAdmission RequirementsRequest Infopaying-for-college-button.pngCAREER-button.pngtransfer-button.png


programscontactbutton.jpg

Cost-Of-Degree-Schools-Button.jpg



 NCLEX-PN 5 Year Passrate

NCLEX-PN-5-Year-Pass-Rates-LVN.pngNCLEX-PN-5-Year-Pass-Rates-LVN-Chart.png

JobPlacementandCompletionData20192020.pngJobPlacementandCompletionData-2-20192020.png


Licensing as a Vocational Nurse (LVN)

Texas utilizes the title of LVN. Many other states use LPN (licensed practical nurse) for this level of nursing practice. The Odessa College vocational nursing graduate must meet state requirements to take the licensing examination National Council for Licensure Examination – Practical Nurse (NCLEX-PN®). Requirements to take the licensing examination to become an LVN include the application and approval process with the BON, payment of fees to the BON, graduation from the nursing program, and graduate certification by the director of the vocational nursing program. Be advised that the BON requires fingerprint identification to screen all applicants for licensure. The fingerprints are analyzed by the state of Texas and the FBI, and there must be clearance on the background check by the BON prior to being allowed to take the licensing examination. There are other issues that may prevent an applicant from being allowed to test. Contact the nursing department or the BON directly regarding any questions. 

DeviderWeb2.png

Allisa Cornelius, RN-MSN
Director of Nursing
Office: HSB 100c
Phone: 432-335-6797, 432-335-4022
E-mail: acornelius@odessa.edu

Yesenia Walsh, RN-MSN
Nursing Coordinator 
Office: ABTC- 124
Phone: 432-524-4022
E-mail: ywalsh@odessa.edu 

Pranay Vekaria, RN- MSN
Nursing Coordinator 
Office: HSB 100B
Phone: 432-335-6149
E-mail: pvekaria@odessa.edu

Andrews:

Danna Duke
Administrative Assistant
Office: ABTC
Phone: 432-524-4022
E-mail: dduke@odessa.edu

Whitney Hice, RN
Nursing Instructor
Office: ABTC- 125
Phone: 432-524-4022
E-mail: whice@odessa.edu

Sheena Webb, RN
Nursing Instructor
Office: ABTC- 126
Phone: 432-524-4022
E-mail: swebb@odessa.edu

Lillybet Hicks, LVN
Nursing Instructor
Office: ABTC 117
Phone: 432-524-4022
E-mail: lhicks@odessa.edu

Monahans:

Debbie Chaney
Administrative Assistant
Office: OCMC 106
Phone: 432-335-6390
E-mail: dchaney@odessa.edu

Miki Mitchell, LVN
Nursing Instructor
Office: OCMC 106C
Phone: 432-335-6390
E-mail: mmitchell@odessa.edu 

Kisha Rasband, RN
Nursing Instructor 
Office: OCMC 106D
Phone: 432-335-6390
E-mail: krasband@odessa.edu 

 

Odessa:

Dawn Johnson, RN
Nursing Instructor
Office: HSB- 215
Phone: 432-335-6470
E-mail: djohnson@odessa.edu

Kimberly Moore, LVN
Nursing Instructor
Office: HSB- 214
Phone: 432-335-6458
E-mail: kmoore@odessa.edu