OC Honors 2017

The Annual OC Honors Luncheon was held on Thursday, November 2nd, 2017 in the Zant Community Room of the Saulsbury Campus Center. This year's honorees included:

  • Outstanding Business - Complex Community Federal Credit Union
  • Outstanding Individual - Willie Taylor, Chief Executive Officer, Workforce Solutions, Permian Basin
  • Outstanding Non-Profit Organization - West Texas Food Bank
  • Outstanding Educator - Steve Goff, Odessa College Professor of Photography

The OC Honors Scholarships were also awarded to seven Odessa College students at the luncheon, and this year's recipients are Lissette Antillon, Jillian Burt, Virginia Frazier, Priscilla Martinez, Rebecca Ortiz, Michael Pules and Cindy Saenz. Following a tradition instituted last year, a new inductee into the Odessa College Hall of Fame was announced. Odessa College is honored and proud to add Dr. Austin Lane, president of Texas Southern University and Odessa College Alumnus, to the roll of notable inductees into the Odessa College Hall Of Fame. Dr. Lane is a dedicated and innovative educator, and was very candid and open regarding his journey from struggling with academics in high school to becoming president of one of the largest and most well-known Historically Black Colleges or Universities (HBCUs) in the United States. He was, is now, and will be forever a part of the OC Family. We celebrate his remarkable story, acknowledge his unwavering leadership, and revel in the inspiration he provides for young people of all backgrounds and experiences.